Gerry B's Book Reviews

Love Means Courage – Andrew Grey

Publisher: Dreamspinner 

Four stars 

Outline: Len Parker is laid off during the recession in the early eighties and decides to go back to college at home in rural Michigan, where he reconnects with his best friend from high school, Ruby. He’s overjoyed when she marries Cliff Laughton and overcome with sorrow when she dies an untimely death, leaving behind her husband and two-year-old son. Out of work again, Len finds a job at Cliff Laughton’s sorely neglected farm. Cliff is still mourning his wife, struggling to raise his son, and has little enthusiasm or energy left for work. Len immediately begins to whip the farm-including the two Laughtons-into shape. Working side by side, Len and Cliff grow ever closer, but loving another man takes a lot of courage. They’ll have to stand together as they face faltering business, threatening drought, misguided family, and Midwestern prejudices to protect what might be a lifelong love. Prequel to Love Means… No Shame 

____________________________

 A good, solid read, masterfully written, and an invitation to more works by Andrew Grey. 

Review by Gerry Burnie 

“Love Means Courage,” Andrew Grey (Dreamspinner Press, 2009) is the first Andrew Grey novel I have read, but it definitely won’t be my last. Grey writes in a very straight forward narrative with just enough poetic description to make it colourful. I like that. I also like the way his characters are developed; strong, distinct and consistent throughout. Even two-year-old Geoff Laughton is a strong personality is his own way; although the phonetic baby-talk is a bit disconcerting at times. 

I also like the way the story develops—especially the relationship between Len and Cliff. Everyone who has ever written a ‘coming out’ story will readily admit that it is a tricky business to get the mix of credibility and pace just right; too fast and it seems contrived; too slow and it appears coquettish. Happily, Grey strikes an agreeable balance. 

Similarly, the events of the story unfold in a logical sequence, and with a fair amount of credibility going for them. This is particularly true of the faming scenes, which leads me to believe that Mr. Grey has spent some time on a farm in his background. 

Love Means Courage” is a good, solid read, masterfully written, and an invitation to more works by Andrew Grey.

January 23, 2010 - Posted by | Gay fiction

9 Comments »

  1. I visit each day a few web sites and information
    sites to read articles or reviews, but this
    website offers feature based content.

    Comment by przewodnik | July 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

    Comment by virilityexonline.weebly.com | June 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment. Share by all means. Hope they enjoy.

      Gerry B.

      Comment by Gerry B. | June 8, 2013 | Reply

  3. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written
    article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.

    Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

    Comment by Shonda | April 7, 2013 | Reply

  4. I savor, cause I discovered exactly what I was looking for.

    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

    Comment by sales trainer | January 15, 2013 | Reply

  5. I like what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

    Comment by chwilowka | December 24, 2012 | Reply

  6. Actually amazed with your style of writing really, something informs me you may be a pro!

    Comment by new massage site | December 22, 2012 | Reply

  7. This website certainly has all of the information and facts I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    Comment by home | October 8, 2012 | Reply

  8. […] also know Andrew Grey from his “Love Means…” series [see  my review of Love Means Courage – Andrew Grey], so when I saw A Foreign Range [Dreamspinner Press, 2012] I went for […]

    Pingback by A Foreign Range, by Andrew Grey « Gerry B's Book Reviews | September 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

